Gay Advocates Hurting Their Own Cause?

2 Aug

I don’t know about you, but after the ridiculous attack upon Chick-fil-A by gay-marriage advocates (GMAs), including even big-city government officials . . . .

 . . . .  I am less of a gay rights advocate today than I was two weeks ago.  [Not to overstate my support two weeks ago.].

 Not only that, but I believe that millions of other Americans feel the same way.

 The extreme intolerance demonstrated by many gay-marriage-advocates is almost beyond belief.  I can hardly think of anything more ridiculous than the mayors of at least four major cities bullying and  threatening a company because the company’s owner expresses a personal religious belief – especially a belief that is every bit as legitimate as the opposing view.

 As many others have said, just let the free market work.  If people don’t want to spend their money at companies where company leadership does not hold the same beliefs as they do, let them simply not go there.

 And I did go to Chick-fil-A yesterday.  And if gays stage a “kiss-in” tomorrow at the stores, I’ll probably go again.  Not to be anti-gay, but to be pro-free-speech and pro-freedom of religion.

 But why is this even an issue?

11 Responses to “Gay Advocates Hurting Their Own Cause?”

  1. raidinglife August 2, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    If a company donates to causes that promote conversion/reparative therapy, then they deserve to be called out for it. Kids have been forced to go to this kind of therapy by their parents. Grown adults pay huge sums of money to undergo this therapy. This therapy does not work and has been denounced by all respectable associations. As a result of undergoing this therapy, people have wasted their time, money, and have even gone as far as committing suicide. They can certainly believe what they want, but when what you want can lead to those consequences, it is time to think a bit more closely about what’s going on.

    People have done a lot to defend CFA for standing up for their beliefs. I hate making this comparison, but would these same people stand up and say that Hitler is a shining example of someone who stood up for his beliefs? Would they give him an “appreciation” day? Before saying that it’s different because of what he did, look more closely CFA donations. They are donating to causes which call for the criminalization and even death of gay people. This is unacceptable.

    • illero August 2, 2012 at 10:42 am #

      Raiding, thanks for responding to my posting. I shall respond, and hope you will give me more feedback.

      Clearly, I will have to do my own research on the types of organizations to which c-f-a donates. So I will research further. However, before we compare “conversion/reparative therapy” to Hitler’s philosophy, let us also ask if legal abortion is Hitler-like. Wouldn’t some of the actions of Planned Parenthood and other pro-abortion groups be considered just as serious a threat to civilized society as “conversion/reparative” therapy?

      But it really seems that the firestorm was specifically created over Mr. Cathy’s opposition to gay marriage. I feel like the issue of what organizations c-f-a has been donating to has become an add-on to the original issue, an effort to make the first response to Cathy’s comments seem less irrational. Cathy’s comments were about gay marriage, not about general gay rights, or even respect for gay people or c-f-a’s gay employees. And Cathy is entitled to these views – as am I.

      I think what took the issue over the top was the threat of government intervention by the mayors of at least four major cities. Do we really want whoever happens to be in office at the time to have the power to bully and threaten companies because of the legitimate, legal beliefs of their owners? Would we want to see far-right mayors threatening companies whose owners take pro-gay stances?

      “They are donating to causes which call for the criminalization and even death of gay people. This is unacceptable.” If true, donating to causes that call for death of gay people is reprehensible, of course. But you will have to provide me the names of these causes before I will even begin to believe this strong assertion.

      Your further thoughts?

  2. pinkagendist August 2, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    Opposition to C-F-A pre-dates Mr. Cathy’s recent statement. I personally don’t see Gay Marriage as a real issue, it’s simply the symbol of a struggle. The groups C-F-A donates to hope to:
    1. Criminalize gay people

    2. Deny gay people the ability to serve in the military

    3. Depict gay people as pedophiles

    4. Make sexual orientation grounds to fire an employee

    5. Deny gay parents access to their own children

    6: Deny children of gay couples the protections derived from having both parents recognized

    and the list goes on.

    Of course the reactions of the mayors in question were over the top, perhaps even out of order- but that doesn’t in any way make Mr. Cathy’s nefarious goals any less nefarious.

    • illero August 2, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      Thanks for responding. But I’m still looking for names of organizations that I can actually verify. Too much hearsay going around to just take a numbered list of offenses as “gospel”. I’m sure you understand. Can you provide me with names?

      • pinkagendist August 3, 2012 at 5:25 am #

        Well, perhaps if you’d done the research before making up your mind… The names of the organizations they donate to are public knowledge, they don’t deny it, in fact, they’re proud of it. There’s no hearsay in that.
        Three of the organizations they donated to were Exodus International, The Family Research Council and Focus on the Family.

      • illero August 3, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

        Thanks for pointing me to some of the organizations you think are malevolently anti-gay, or anti-gay-marriage. I looked at several sites for each of the three you named. As it turns out, of course, pro-gay, left-leaning web sites and people skewer these organizations for hate-mongering, and anti-gay, right-leaning sites support them for their staunch but loving embrace of Christian family values.

        Since, in this day and time, lying is one of the main tools of advocates for/against ANY cause, I conclude that there is no reasonable way for an undedicated, otherwise-busy person (like me) to determine the truth or falsehood of the matter. This is unfortunate, but, as everyone knows, no one, up to and including the President of the United States, can be trusted to tell the unbiased truth any more.

        What I CAN say is this; From what I know about Chick-fil-A and its principles and mission, from my interaction with the manager of our local CFA, from the excellent, motivated, and long-term employees I have met, and my understanding of the concern that any corporate leadership would have about being associated with hate-mongers, my tendency is to believe that IF CFA has sent donations to a true hate-group, the company has done it unwittingly.

        I also base my conclusion on people and businesses acting rationally. In other words, if sane people and businesses can be counted upon to do what is in their best interests (and they can), it would be a damn fool move for CFA (or any company) in this day and age to make donations to hate-groups – a verifiable malevolence on their part could destroy their entire business – and should, in my opinion.

  3. illero August 2, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    Having been challenged by two respondents to consider the horrible agendas of organizations that receive donations from CFA, I did do some on-line research. What I found was a lack of facts to back up these assertions. All the anti-CFA info comes from — guess what — pro-gay-rights sites. If WinShape is the primary CFA-sponsored organization contributing to these so-called gay-hating organizations, I don’t find the evidence of truth. If we trust Snopes’ research, those folks also seem to have been unable to find evidence of the charges against CFA. Again, I am open to digging deeper, but someone needs to point me directly at the offensive activity. Else, I have to believe that it’s just propoganda generated by those who hate the idea that people can think differently than they do. And isn’t Chick-fil-A entitled to donate to anti-gay-marriage groups just as much as any other company is entitled to donate to pro-gay-marriage groups?

  4. Joseph Edward Wages August 3, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    I too ate chicken twice on Wednesday. It is an issue because gay rights advocates are out, not to gain equality under the law (they have that and more), but, to change basic American values. They are willing and eager to trample on the Constitutional guaranteed rights of anyone in order to further that cause. They wish to shame anyone who disagrees with them into political correctness compliance with their views.

    • illero August 3, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      I agree. If you read the other comments on this post, you saw that a couple of respondents kinda took me to task — which is their right — and I appreciate their views and civility. But I can’t quite buy their assertions that CFA is a gay-hating organization. Thanks for your response.

  5. sandrabranum September 6, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    In this age of “political correctness” and multimedia, it’s hard not know what’s happening, but sometimes I think the media latches onto a story like a dog with a bone just to get people to watch their program. Now with this being a Presidential election year more stories like this will emerge just so politicians can publically take a stand. Thanks for subscribing to my blog. Regards, Sandra

    • illero September 6, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

      Sandra —

      Thank you for checking in on my blog — and commenting. However, I have to admit that, although I have subscribed to your blog, and on your page I see that I am “Following”, I have not received any notifications of new posts. I have noticed this with some others that I am trying to “Follow”, as well.

      I do like your work, though.

      Doug

Please reply here -- I value your thoughts

