Does “Education” Need More Money?

21 Jun

My fellow blogger at  http://quixotetilts.blogspot.com/   has nicely summed up the problem with throwing more government (taxpayer)money at Education in his entry titled  More Funding for Education?  Revisited.

His summary:

“To paraphrase several proverbs, spending more money to do more of what has produced only failure in the past, produces nothing more than a more dramatic level of failure. “

I love it!

4 Responses to “Does “Education” Need More Money?”

  1. III June 21, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    There is no need to throw more money at education. I agree with the argument that doing so only produces more of what we already have. I say revamp the system with continuing education for teachers, a better vetting system for teachers, no tenure, and annual evaluations of teachers’ skills. Maybe then you’ll rid the school districts of those just there to earn a living and you’ll find more people who really care.

    • illero June 21, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      Well said. I’m thinking we have a lot of company in thinking this way. I’m also thinking, though, that there’s a cultural component to this problem. Not enough parental encouragement of, and involvement in, educational achievement. The kids take home back-breaking loads of books in their knapsacks, but what in the world can they be doing with them once they are home, to be showing such poor results?

      • III June 21, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

        I agree, it’s a lack of parental guidance. I have 3 boys, 2 of which are school age. When they’re with me, I see all their homework. I’m a bit of a disciplinarian when it comes to their studies. No TV, Xbox, PS3, nothing until the work is done.

  2. III June 21, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    Reblogged this on Prepper Politics and commented:
    I really liked this posting. Check this guy’s blog out, people.

Please reply here -- I value your thoughts

