Why Do I Feel So Bummed Out?

29 Aug

 I can’t watch the live, or near-live, coverage of the Republican National Convention.   And I certainly won’t watch the Democratic National Convention.  It’s almost more than I can bear to just watch the highlights.  Why is that?  I am highly concerned about the direction this nation is taking – you name the issue.  Is ANYthing going really well?

 So I should be excited about the Republican offensive against the president, the Democrats, and the Administration, right? 

 I suppose so, except that 1) we don’t know that our guys are giving us the truth any more than the liberals are, 2) even if they are, we can’t really know that they are, and 3) even if “the good guys” win, will they actually step forward and undertake solutions to the serious financial, moral, and economic problems faced by America, or will they just continue to hunker down to protect their jobs?

 I am so weary of, ashamed of, and disappointed in, the constant flow of lies and exaggerations flowing out of politicians and commentators these days that it takes a real effort even to watch the news, be it Fox News, the MSM, CNN, whatever.

 Oh, I still have my favorite essayists and commentators, people I consider to provide more of a rational viewpoint than the common group of liars – people like Thomas Sowell, Linda Chavez, John Stossel, Walter Williams, Mona Charen, Michael Barone, and a few others.  Sometimes, though, even my favorites seem to crawl into the gutter.

 While I am writing this — just this very moment –  I had to click off the TV as Boehner was being broadcast making yet another attack on Obama based on the president’s gaffe, “you didn’t build that” – which really does refer back to the roads and bridges, not to the small businesses.  Obama’s statement still was wrong (after all, whose money built the roads and bridges, if not the money of the taxpayers, which includes small-business owners), but it’s also wrong to blatantly misrepresent what the president was trying to say.  And, of course, Ann Romney used the gaffe in her otherwise-excellent speech, as well [saw it on the "highlights".].

 I hate it.  A profession that requires a practitioner to depend on lies, illusions, exaggerations, obfuscations, twisted statistics, and personal attacks in order to be successful has to be inherently evil.

 Doesn’t it?

6 Responses to “Why Do I Feel So Bummed Out?”

  1. neenergyobserver August 29, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    I generally agree with you except that my analysis of the transcript of Obama’s speech inidicates that he did mean that. But your main point is valid, and for that matter I shouldn’t have to sit here and play grammarian anyway. If they would only tell us what they really think, of course then we’d probably fire all of them.

    And I commend you on your choice of sources, of course I would, they tend to be mine as well.

    • illero August 29, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      Thanks for the response. Funny about the interpretation of the “You didn’t build that” statement. Millions of people read it one way, and millions read it another – pretty much split along ideological lines. Hmmm . . . . I dedicated one post to the “revelation” I had about the context in which the statement is found (7/27, “Mea Culpa: The Prez Really Did NOT Say This”) – but, of course, this was AFTER I had blasted him in a previous post FOR saying “this”.

      Either way, this statement is only one of many questionable or downright untrue statements that both sides use to discredit the other. And, like I said – I’m just plain sick of hearing it.

      Glad to hear you are a fan of my favorite writers. I also like David Brooks for a more moderate flavor.

      Thanks again.

      • neenergyobserver August 29, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

        Yep David Brooks is pretty good as well. I’m afraid we are going to be deathly sick of it by November-it’s a perfect slogan, and the very fact that I diagrammed the sentence means it really means whatever you want it to mean.

        But to the main point, politic has completely gotten away from any real meaning to us, the constituents-it’s all the operatives trying to impress and/or convince each other, to the detriment, I think, of the country.

        I like many of your articles and comments, jus don’t always say so-I get lazy and read in my e-mail often, so thanks!

      • illero August 29, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

        ne, I have been “Following” your blog for some time now, but have never gotten a notification of a new post. Do you have any insight as to why “Following” is not working for me? I do get notification of others’ posts.

  2. Dapper Dan September 4, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    I don’t think politics is inherently evil. Bad is a distortion of something that is good and I think politics is a good thing because we need government. Calvin Coolidge said that politics “…is the art of government. Like other values it has its counterfeits. So much emphasis has been put upon the false that the significance of the true has been obscured and politics has come to convey the meaning of crafty and cunning selfishness, instead of candid and sincere service.”

    There is a good form of government and a bad form. Right now we are awash in the bad form and so I think it’s easy to say it’s inherently evil. I admit, there are days I want to throw up my hands and ignore it all.

    • illero September 4, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

      Thank you for writing – and following Of course, you are right, and I just needed to be brought down by good-sense reasoning. You know, there are probably 10 people in the United States who could tell us what positive or negative things happened during the Coolidge Administration, but as your comment shows, and my blog entry of 8/31 on another bit of his wisdom, he certainly was a straight thinker, wasn’t he?

Please reply here -- I value your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

